At most 5 shades of gray

For this manicure I did gradient from whiteish to blackish. Now, originally I tried to do some nail art on the thumb as I was playing around with what the Stark manicure would be in Game of Thrones.

IMG_2109

But it was an awful mess :(( so I decided to cut my losses and do a glittery accent thumb of Metallic 4 Lyf. This is what I ended up with. I used the BYS matte top coat on the main nails… and its not great at all. I bought one time I was feeling a bit poor but wanted to try matte nails. It, at best, gets you to a rubber finish but has the BYS ability to goo-ify any nail polishes underneath it, smells like a petroleum refinery waste product and take forever to buy. This is my problem… I always get suckered into what BYS offers colours/finish-wise and forget the smell and setting issues.

ombre mani

Anyway, the colours left to right are Nubar Black Chrome, Orly Sea Gurl, Essence Got a Secret, and OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls (and OPI Metallic 4 Lyf on the Thumb, with a Seche Top Coat). Black Chrome has a subtle shimmer that takes it back a notch from black and MBSW is a also a touch grimier than a true white so they all play on the grey spectrum.

So, in summary, don’t buy BYS matte top coat.

One thought on “At most 5 shades of gray

Leave a Reply

