Owning my own appearance

It’s funny how we all seem to be slightly embarassed about writing about beauty. Beauty isn’t considered worthless when it’s the subject of great artworks (usually by men). Somehow I find when I tell people I’m writing a beauty blog they find if quite surprising, so unlike me. It’s actually quite like me to deconstruct something I see, and work out how to do it myself. In my engineering days we would reverse engineer products, and work out how to construct them. Artists do the same when learning techniques of reproducing artworks. Yet it’s not something we were proudly.

I think there are a few things at play. We are prouder, and take more status, from owning things of beauty rather than being beautiful. Which I reject entirely, I am worth as much to myself as to my partner. My appearance is mine. Also at play is the notion that beauty should be effortless. Makeup is cheating, we should look like this when we wake up. Again I reject this. I don’t think is true, because even the most beautiful people in the world regularly get ridiculed in STARS WITHOUT THEIR MAKEUP type headlines.

I thought I might do a roundup of some of my all time favourite posts on beauty;

You don’t owe prettiness to anyone. Not to your boyfriend/spouse/partner, not to your co-workers, especially not to random men on the street. You don’t owe it to your mother, you don’t owe it to your children, you don’t owe it to civilization in general. Prettiness is not a rent you pay for occupying a space marked “female”. Erin from dressaday talking about the beauty and fashion choices (and our feeling of uniform or obligation)

Nails are the one part of everyone’s body that they pretty much feel OK about. Nobody’s nails are too fat! The nail polish industry has a special place in the world of make-up because nail polish is the only product that cannot be used to make you look like the more attractive person you’re not. Stupid Polish Names taking OPI to town on the name Iris I was thinner. 

Does anyone have some others to recommend?

 

Leave a Reply

