New vs old Maybelline Pure Minerals BB cream formulation

The Maybelline BB cream has had a rejig and is now called “water gel” formulation. In other news it also seems to have dropped SPF from 50 to 35. Not cool dudes, I love me some SPF. I should probably also point out in these pic I have a different tone in the new formulation as it’s the end of summer and I’m at my very darkest (not that dark to be honest but it’s all relative!)

photo 2 photo 1

Initially these look similar in terms of consistency but the old formulation is definitely more fluid to start with and covers more space with the same amount of cream. It also has less of a scent which is nice, not that the older formulation has much scent but I prefer foundation with as little scent as possible. (Old form on left, new on right)

photo

The older formulation seems to get into the fine lines more and dries to a slightly more powdery finish. The newer formulation stays more dewy and feels much lighter on the skin and more moisturising.

photo 3

I think they are even in ‘radiance’ and pore minimising, as the older formulation has a more light reflecting base where as the newer one seems to settle into the skin over a few mins blending and gives a nice ‘fresh dewy’ style skin.

photo 4 photo 5

I think the new formulation is a definite improvement but I do wish the SPF was maintained at a 50. Make sure you give the water gel formulation a few minutes after blending to judge as it does seem to take a bit longer to settle into the skin than the older one.

2 thoughts on “New vs old Maybelline Pure Minerals BB cream formulation

  1. Pingback: Maybelline Baby Skin vs Benefit Porefessional | Making the most of what I've got

  2. Pingback: Face-off : BB cream vs CC cream | Making the most of what I've got

Leave a Reply

