Why I’m wearing makeup at the gym

I’m so annoyed. I just read another stupid article about why women wear makeup to the gym. So here are my reasons you might see me in the gym with makeup on.

1) I don’t plan my day around the gym. I’m busy and I fit in exercise where I can. I may have been wearing makeup for the event beforehand if I have time to duck into the gym at 2pm.

2) My makeup includes my SPF. I am pale and live in Australia and my SPF prevents me from getting melanoma. That’s not vanity but simply health care in the climate I live in.

3) The vanity aspect is so not a concern. Honestly I am usually wearing track pants and a tshirt – I’m a bit slobby at the gym. If I’m wearing a full face of makeup I’ll try and use a wipe to take most of it off but committing to full makeup removal is an extra time commitment and echoing point 1) I’m usually jamming this in.

4) I just don’t think about it. Simply I put on some makeup at the start of the day, but in day to day makeup I don’t think about the product after that. I don’t care or think about whether other people are looking at me cause I’m just on the treadmill or eliptical listening to a podcast. I’m not looking or judging others so I don’t assume anyone notices me.

So while I realise it might not be as great for my pores, it’s not the biggest deal for me. The benefits from the skin from exercise are primarily from the increasing blood flow underneath the skin. As long as you do a good clean at night the makeup will be removed and the benefits of wearing SPF as you walk to the gym (unless you can park at the door! ) are likely to be at least as useful as the benefits of going bare faced.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Why I’m wearing makeup at the gym

  1. Why I’d be wearing makeup at the gym should be of no one’s concern. It certainly isn’t mine. Anyone getting judgey about that – or much else really – at the gym isn’t paying enough attention to what they are supposed to be there for! Cordially invite them to mind their own fricking business 🙂

    • IKR – the article I was reading said something along the lines of don’t worry ladies, the guys at the gym think you are hotter without makeup. And I thought, seriously, not all of us are working out with an intention of attracting people… I mean I’m happily attached! I work out to be fit and keep up with my kids!

      • That’s some pretty powerful condescension in that article you read… I don’t wear makeup with the intention of attracting men regardless of venue and I’m sure many women are the same. I guess whoever wrote that tripe lives in a man’s world of limited, sexist perspective. Sad and alarming.

  2. IKR – the article I was reading said something along the lines of don’t worry ladies, the guys at the gym think you are hotter without makeup. And I thought, seriously, not all of us are working out with an intention of attracting people… I mean I’m happily attached! I work out to be fit and keep up with my kids!

Leave a Reply

